Irish Wheelchair Association is the National Governing Body for Wheelchair Rugby in Ireland.

Wheelchair rugby was originally known as ‘Murderball’ and was invented by a group of quadriplegics in Canada in the 1970’s.

Who can play and where can I play?

Wheelchair rugby is a mixed team sport for male and female. Contact between wheelchairs is permitted and is vital for blocking and holding the opposing team. Each team consists of four players.

Irish wheelchair rugby welcomes both able-bodied players and players with disabilities to play the sport together. The sport has features of rugby, basketball, handball and ice hockey. The object of the game is to carry the ball across the opposing team’s goal line to score a try. Each try is worth one point.

Junior players (5-15 yrs.) play in our multisport clubs.

Senior players (15yrs +) play in our wheelchair rugby clubs. There is one senior domestic competition annually.


Everyone is welcome to play wheelchair rugby in Ireland including people with a physical disability or able-bodied individuals. 

Wheelchair rugby classifications range from 0.5 to 3.5. Each team can only have a combined total of eight points on the court at any one time. The game consists of 4 x 8minute quarters.

International Level:

We currently have one senior team. Our international team competes at major competitions biannually.  

Get Involved


Search for IWA Sports Clubs in your county


To get in touch with IWA about a sport you are interested in or to ask a question, please visit our contact page