IWA-Sport is a recognised National Governing Body of Sport by Sport Ireland, our statutory funding agency. The Association is a company limited by guarantee, under the name of I.W.A. Limited, since January 2002. 

The Board of Irish Wheelchair Association has delegated its power to manage the affairs of the sports section to the National Sports Executive Committee (NSEC). 

The NSEC is responsible for setting the strategic direction of IWA-Sport with approval of the IWA Board, while ensuring that all requirements of company law are fully discharged. The Director of Sport is responsible for the implementation of all NSEC decisions and the management of all aspects of IWA-Sport operations. 

Committee members

  • Chairperson James McCarthy 
  • Secretary Adrian Donoghue 
  • Treasurer Iqura Naseem 
  • Committee member Sarah Kerrigan 
  • Committee member Ana Maia
  • IWA Board representative Peter Smyth 
  • National Safeguarding Officer  Daragh Kennedy 

Staffing structure 

National Governing Body staff 

Sports Centre staff